3rd Edition Of Isoko Nation Cup Holds 15th December

By Kelvin Ohoror


In a bid to foster peace, unity and curb youth restiveness in the youths in Isoko nation, the 3rd edition of Isoko nation’s cup with the theme ‘Kick out violence from Isoko land with football”, will kick off 15th of December, 2021 at the Oleh township stadium Isoko South local government area of Delta State.

Addressing newsmen, the chairman of the local organizing committee and also 2nd vice-president Isoko Development Union, Chief Dan Odhomo said “The completion will commence on the 15 December, 2021.


“The Isoko Development Union, the apex and umbrella body of the entire Isoko people both home and in diaspora is organizing the 3rd edition of the Isoko nation cup”, he said.

According to him, “The aim is to promote peaceful co-existence, brotherly love, communal integration and unity amongst the Isoko speaking communities in Delta State in particular and Nigeria at large.

He also reiterate that it will help to curb youth restiveness, talent and skill development and promote sports in the area.

Chief Odhomo also pointed out that “As you all aware, there have been too much communal crisis that has bedeviled the Isoko nation and in some cases resulting to arms conflict.

He added that against this background, there is now a dire need to use the Isoko Community football competition tournament tagged “Isoko Nation Cup” to revive and continually promote and discover talents in all the 23 clans of Isoko nation as a basis for social regeneration and proper human capacity development and help to foster unity amongst Isoko communities.

The tournament is expected to commence on the 15th – 22nd of December, 2021 with two venues Oleh township stadium and the Delta State Polytechnic stadium, Ozoro respectively will be used throughout the tournament.

It will be recalled that the first trophy for this tournament was donated by the former Majority leader Delta State House of Assembly of blessed memory Hon. Tim Kome Owhefere.

The 1st and 2nd edition of the competition was won by Olomoro community and Owhe community respectively.

Related posts

Leave a Comment