APC wins Edo local council elections

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has won all the 18 chairmanship seats in the March 3 local government election in Edo.

The Chairman of the Edo State Independent Electoral Commission (EDSIEC), Stanley Orobator, announced the results of the council polls in Benin on Sunday.

Mr. Orobator said the exercise was rancour-free and that there was no reported case of violence across the state during the election on Saturday.

The elected chairmen are Victor Emuanhagbon for Esan South-East Local Government Area, Augustine Okhoibkole for Esan North East and Musa Yakubu for Etsako West.

Others are Waziri Idemudia (Esan Central), Patrick Aguinede (Esan West), Ogedengbe Odia (Igueben), Sylvester Okoro (Orihonmwon), John Akhigbe (Etsako Central) and Eric Osayande (Ikpoba-Okha).

Also elected are Evbareke Osunde (Oredo), Aremiyau Momoh (Etsako East), Oteh Omoru (Akoko-Edo), Destiny Enabulele (Ovia South West) and Ogbemudia Osaze (Ovia North East).

Napoleon Agbama was elected chairman for Uhunwode, and Andrew Osigwe won in Owan East while Eghe Ogbemudia was declared winner in Egor as Frank Ilaboya won in Owan West.

The commission’s chairman said certificates of return would be given to them at 3 p.m. on Monday.

”We will now compile results of the councilors and will brief you in about 48 or 72 hours,” he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that 10 political parties took part in the council poll while the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) boycotted the election.

Source: today.ng

Related posts

Leave a Comment