Delta inaugurates 8-man c’ttee on mining

Delta State Government, has inaugurated an eight- man committee on mining of untapped natural resources with Mr John Edijala as Chairman.

Inaugurating the committee, Secretary to the State Government, SSG, Mr Festus Agas, said that the committee was expected to liaise with the Ministry of Mines and Steel in Abuja, committees on Mines in other states, miners and host communitie Other members of the committee are Mr Austin Oghoro, Mr Joe  Ogabu, Mr Jude Aguonye, Mr Itiako Ikpokpo, Mrs Nkem  Ajufo, Mr John Onyetenu and Mrs Kuye as secretary.

He restated the resolve of the state government to mine untapped resources in the state, decrying the activities of illegal miners. He also enjoined the committee to submit reports to the state governor periodically.

Chairman of the Committee, Mr  Edijala, in his remarks, pledged the readiness of the committee to deliver on its mandate, adding that it will also liaise with miners to check the activities of illegal miners.

He also suggested that a member be appointed from the State Ministry of Justice and promised that they will consult the SSG when the need arises.

Source: Vanguard News

Related posts

Leave a Comment